From the Executive Director 

During the winter months, whether you are someone who likes to hibernate or a person who wants to venture outdoors (or maybe a little of both), we have created a variety of opportunities for you to experience the FIA. There is art, history, and culture to be discovered through the permanent collection and special exhibitions including the newly installed exhibitions: Pure Abstraction; Glass in the 4th Dimension; Field of Vision; then opening in January, Posing Beauty in African American Culture; and Found Objects: The Art of Purvis Young.  

Of course, the best way to encounter art is in person, and our galleries are now open every day of the week for you to enjoy looking at art first hand. To see how something is made, you can attend one of the free glassblowing demonstrations in the Art School’s glassmaking studio every Saturday and Sunday. Additionally, the Palette Café and Museum Shop will be open to our guests.

While we hope to see you in person, we understand that for some that’s not possible, so we have developed online virtual alternatives. Every weekend, as part of our FOMA film series, there is a new title to be screened online. In January and February, we will present virtual lectures about Harry Houdini and the Silk Road, respectively. Also, in 2021, the Community Gala goes virtual on January 31 with an exclusive lecture and Q&A by Dr. Deborah Willis curator of the Posing Beauty in African American Culture exhibition.

Announcements and descriptions of these programs and more can be found in this magazine, on our website, and by subscribing to our weekly e-newsletter FIA @ Home.

One of the virtues of recorded programming is that the content lives beyond the original premiere date and is available to watch anytime; so, if you’ve missed a live airing, please check our website or our YouTube page for archived video lectures and artist talks.

On our YouTube channel, you will also find other video content from yoga and studio art classes to more in-depth looks of works in the permanent collection, all created by our education and curatorial departments. We even have an audio tour of the permanent collection available on our website’s homepage. And recently, the Museum Shop added online shopping to our website where you can choose to pick up your purchases at the Museum Shop or have them shipped to your home.

So, whether we see you here in person or virtually online, I hope you’ll take advantage of all there is to offer.

John Henry

Executive Director

John Henry has been the FIA's Director since July 1996, and holds an M.A. from the University of Mississippi in Art History and a B.F.A. from the University of South Carolina in sculpture.

He is a member of Rotary International and a member of numerous professional affiliations including the Board of Trustees of the Flint Classroom Support Fund, The Association of Art Museum Directors, American Association of Museums and the Midwest Museum Conference.

The Director is responsible for the administration of board policies and all museum operations.

Email John

Board of Trustees

The FIA welcomes the following members to the Board of Trustees:

David T. Taylor

David T. Taylor was born in Royal Oak, Michigan, and grew up in Birmingham, Michigan. He earned his B.S. in Microbiology and Biological Sciences with honors from Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado. Dr. Taylor attended the Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine in Chicago, where he graduated Summa Cum Laude in 1999. After graduation, he completed a three-year residency in Foot and Ankle Surgery at Hines Veteran’s Administration Hospital and Loyola University Medical Center in suburban Chicago. Dr. Taylor published several research papers during his residency regarding great toe joint arthritis.

In August 2002, Dr. Taylor joined Community Podiatry Group located in Flint, Michigan. He is Board certified by the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery (ABFAS) in both Forefoot and Rearfoot/Ankle Surgery. He is the program director for the Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Residency at Ascension Genesys.

Dr. Taylor lives in Fenton and has three children (Lauren, Emily, and TJ). He enjoys scuba diving, photography, alpine skiing, fitness/running, ice hockey, and gardening.

John Bracey


John Bracey earned a degree in philosophy from the University of Michigan-Flint. His graduate work has been in liberal studies with a focus on American Culture. He recently retired from the Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs (MCACA), where he served as Executive Director for 13 years, previously serving as the Director of Programs. He has also been a lecturer at the University of Michigan-Flint for the Rackham Graduate School in Arts Administration, in addition to holding positions as a journalist, editor, and as an employee of General Motors Chevrolet Truck Assembly.

John has served on numerous boards and task forces, including the National Assembly of State Arts Agencies, Arts Midwest, the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities, and as a grant reviewer for the Kresge Foundation and several states throughout the country.

John and his wife Dianne have two children, Denise and Dan, daughter-in-law Amy, and one incredible grandchild Hailey. He enjoys making pottery, writing, poetry, the Detroit Tigers, and nearly all music. 

Officers & Trustees

The board of directors is the governing body of a nonprofit. Individuals who sit on the board are responsible for overseeing the organization’s activities. Board members meet periodically to discuss and vote on the affairs of the organization. At a minimum, an annual meeting must occur with all board members present. Additional meetings are likely to take place throughout the year so board members can discuss and make other necessary decisions. Board memberships are not set up to be permanent positions; most organizations have terms set up for board members, which typically fall between two and five years.

Elizabeth S. Murphy


Elizabeth Murphy is returning to the FIA Board of Trustees after having served two previous six-year terms in which she served as Board Secretary for five years and Board President for two more of those years. Liz is a member of the Rubens Society and previously served as the FIA’s Rubens Society Coordinator for five years. Professionally Liz is an industrial engineer, receiving her BS and MS from GMI (now Kettering University). She was a senior engineer with Buick, served on the executive staff of Flint’s Mayor Collier as Deputy City Administrator, and is currently the Senior Assistant to the Emergency Manager for the City of Flint. Liz is married to Dr. Kienan Murphy (pediatrician) and they have three adult children.

Thomas B. Lillie

First Vice-President

Mark L. Lippincott

Second Vice-President

Elisabeth Saab


Martha Sanford


John Bracey

Eleanor E. Brownell


Ann K. Chan


James D. Draper

Founders Society President

Mona Hardas


Carol Hurand


Lynne Hurand


Raymond J. Kelly, III

FIA Rep to FCCC Board

Alan Klein


Jamile Trueba Lawand


Eureka McCormick


William H. Moeller


Jay N. Nelson


Karl A. Olmsted


Dr. Brenda Rogers-Grays


Michael Rucks


Mary Coe Ryan


Sharon A. Simeon


Patricia Spangler


Theresa A. Stephens-Lock


Tiffany Stolzenfeld


Lynne A. Taft-Draper

FOMA President

David T. Taylor

Gregory G. Viener


Jan Werschky


Shannon Easter White